Domain Buying Scam?

Filed Under Scam on 2008-06-05, 13:27

I got the following email today:

From: Anne Gaskins <shuja@emirates.net.ae>
Subject: Your Website

Hello,

Browsing on the Internet I came across your website [domainname.com] . If you are interested in selling it, please email me back your phone number, so we can discuss it.
I have cash to buy today!

Thank you in advance

My first thought was why in the world do they want to buy this domain? It’s old, outdated, and the comments have been spammed to hell so it hardly even ranks in Google. Yes, it’s a site I totally neglected because a) I tossed it up in 20 minutes and b) it has only made $224 in Google Adsense in the 2.5 years it’s been up. I was planning on emailing them back just out of curiosity, but then I saw this post pop up in my news reader. Looks like I’m not the only one.

Tagged: ,


Comments

  • Joao
    Sure you Aren't the one, I received one identical message right now from Anne Baum
  • Clark
    how's it goin--sure my email is fake--use it for registering all those email required things---I'm Kim's ex--n dad of matt n sean--why is it so hard to email YOU?--whatja tryin to prove--ok--that's over---nice photos and all dat--very impressive---you got talent--does that mean anything any MO?--well I'm VERY old school and we're going down to the BVI (google it\) for a swim on a leopard cat......matt is living in st. croix.......of the cross.......hard for those that can't believe--peace--and keep on
blog comments powered by Disqus